Home > Fashion

Korea's 'most stylish actress' Shin Min-a disappoints at awards gala

  • Published : May 27, 2015 - 14:07
  • Updated : May 27, 2015 - 14:07

Korean actress Shin Min-a disappointed fashion watchers at an entertainment awards gala in Seoul, Tuesday, in which she was honored with a "fashionista" award.

In contrast to previous recipients of the sponsored InStyle Fashionista Award -- Jun Ji-hyun, Lee Min-jung and Son Ye-jin -- Shin appeared in a less-than glamorous turtleneck dress.

Actress Shin Min-a won the sponsored InStyle Fashionista Award at the 51st Paeksang Arts Awards. (OSEN)
The calf-length black-and-white dress was devoid of embellishments or details.

Shin wore modest silver earrings and matching silver rings together with a black leather bracelet at the 51st Paeksang Arts Awards.

The actress, 31, also sported minimal makeup and a hairstyle loosely combed back in a low ponytail.

Previous recipients of the InStyle Fashionista Award have memorably delighted the public with tropical-colored stunning dresses that have openly embraced glamor.

Last year's awardee Jun Ji-hyun wore an unforgettable flamingo pink sleeveless gown, decorated with silver floral embroidery.

Actress Jun Ji-hyun won the sponsored "fashionista" award at last year's event. (OSEN)
The recipient of the same award in 2011, Lee Min-jung -- wife of actor Lee Byung-hun -- wore a startlingly fuchsia sleeveless gown, while Son Ye-jin in 2010 wore a neon orange number, slit on one side up to her thigh and decorated with a diamante shoulder.

The first male recipient of the InStyle Fashionista Award this year, Lee Jung-jae, wore a similarly neat and nondescript navy tuxedo.

From left: Son Ye-jin won the first "fashionista" award in 2010, followed by Lee Min-jung in 2011. Shin won this year's InStyle Fashionista Award. (OSEN)
Actor Lee Jung-jae won the first male "fashionista" award at the Paeksang Arts Awards, Tuesday. (OSEN)
By Yoon Sarah (sarah356@heraldcorp.com)

Related articles:
Park Shin-hye sparkles in classic gown at awards gala
Lee Min-ho, Park Shin-hye, Lee Jong-suk win Most Popular awards

Most Read Stories : Week