Home > Film

Park Yoo-chun wins best new male award

  • Published : Nov 21, 2014 - 23:14
  • Updated : Nov 21, 2014 - 23:16


Singer and actor Park Yoo-chun captured the best new male actor crown for his film, “Sea Fog,” at the 51st Grand Bell Awards on Friday.

Park contested with actors Yim Si-wan, An Jae-hong, Yeo Jin-gu and Choi Jin-hyuk.

“The film ‘Sea Fog’ was the first film I shot this year. I want to thank filmmaker Shim Sung-bo and other colleagues who worked with me,” Park said. “It’s hard to believe I’m approaching the last heydays of my 20s this year. I am sincerely humbled by the award,” he quipped.

Actress Lim Ji-yeon won the best new female award for film, “Obsessed.”

“I am overwhelmed by the decision. I felt blissful filming. It was like a dream,” Lim said with tears welling her eyes. “I will strive to be a better performer.”


Actor Choi Min-sik and actress Son Ye-jin won awards for the best actor and actress for “The Admiral: Roaring Currents” and “The Pirates,” respectively.


“The Admiral: Roaring Currents,” which drew more than 10 million viewers in record time in Korean film history, captured quadruple crowns ? the best film award, best technology award, best project award and best male actor award.

“The Attorney” also seized four awards, including the best new director award and best supporting actress award.


Actor Yim Si-wan and Kim Woo-bin and actress Lee Ha-nui won the Hanhwa Star Award given to candidates with popular ratings.

The award ceremony was held at the KBS Hall in Yeouido, Seoul, hosted by actor Shin Hyun-joon, Oh Man-seok and actress Uhm Jung-hwa.


Most Read Stories : Week