Home > Music

[V Report] Twice getting ready to sweep summer K-pop scene

  • Published : Jul 2, 2018 - 11:53
  • Updated : Jul 2, 2018 - 11:53

Broadcast date: July 1
Starring: Twice, Lovelyz, Gugudan

Twice getting ready to sweep summer K-pop scene

(Naver's V app)
Twice hinted at its summer return to the spotlight.

The tri-national girl group unveiled the first teaser clip for its new summer dance track on Naver’s V app Sunday.

Set to be released on July 9 at 6 p.m., Twice’s upcoming extended play “Summer Nights” will list nine songs in total, fronted by “Dance the Night Away.”

Veteran R&B singer and music producer Wheesung, whose most notable works include T-ara’s “Crazy Because of You” and Ailee’s “Heaven,” wrote the lead track’s lyrics. The group’s Japanese trio Momo, Sana and Mina co-wrote the lyrics to one of the tracks, “Shot Thru the Heart.”

“Summer Nights” marks another 2018 release for Twice since its five-song album “What is Love?” in April, with the lead track of the same title.

Twice has been dominating the K-pop scene since its debut, with each of its songs following the debut single “Like Ooh-Ahh” making it to the top 10 of Billboard’s World Digital Song Sales chart. “Summer Nights” is one of the most anticipated releases of this summer.

Lovelyz, minus Jin, talks about new album

(Naver's V app)
Lovelyz rolled out its second release of the year on Sunday. The new song, “Wagzak,” is an upbeat tropical dance track.

“Fans are saying that you look nice with your hair done up,” Kei told Baby Soul, who in return thanked the viewers.

When asked if there were any behind-the-scenes stories from this particular album, Jisoo said she “got super tan filming for the music video.” “We had to film under the blazing sun,” Baby Soul nodded.

Jin was absent as she is on a break due to health reasons as previously announced by the act’s agency Woollim Entertainment. “Jin won’t be joining the promotional activities for the new song due to health reasons,” read the announcement released on June 21, which also promised to “undertake everything necessary to ensure the artist’s prompt return.”

Gugudan’s “Se-Mi-Na” trio rocks “Something New”

(Naver's V app)
Gugudan’s Sejeong, Mina and Nayoung, collectively known as “Se-Mi-Na,” let fans have a sneak peek of their practice room.

Clad in training gear, the three leading vocalists of Gugudan showed off their strong vocals singing Nikki Yanofsky’s 2014 contemporary jazz track “Something New.”

Debuted in 2016, Gugudan consists of Mimi, Hana, Haebin, Nayoung, Sejeong, Sally, Soyee, Mina and Hyeyeon. Sejeong and Mina remain the better known two among the group’s nine members, having had more exposure during their appearances on the audition show “Produce 101” broadcast on Mnet.

Naver’s real-time broadcasting app V allows fans to interact with their favorite K-pop stars through live broadcasts. The app is available for Android and iOS. For more information, visit http://www.vlive.tv.

By The Korea Herald (khnews@heraldcorp.com)

Google Play https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.naver.vapp
Apple App Store https://itunes.apple.com/app/id1019447011?mt=8