Home > Music

April to return with new members

  • Published : Dec 21, 2016 - 17:33
  • Updated : Dec 21, 2016 - 17:33

K-pop group April is set for a January return with two brand new members.

Its agency DPS Media on Wednesday released a teaser image for the new album, titled “Prelude.”

(DPS Media)
The group debuted in August 2015 as a six-piece, with Somin, Jinsol, Naeun, Chaewon, Yena and Hyunjoo, but the number gradually slimmed down to four.

Group leader Somin left within three months of the group’s debut to pursue a different career path.

April continued its activities as a five-piece until Hyunjoo left in May, citing health reasons and her wishes to focus more on acting than singing.

Following Hyunjoo’s departure, DPS Media recruited Yoon Chae-kyung from audition TV program “Produce 101” and US-educated Rachel.

Together with the new members, April will release “Prelude” on Jan. 4.

Industry watchers commented this will be like a second debut for the rookies.

When April first debuted, the group garnered attention for its pristine image. The members’ average age was sixteen, and they were referred to as the “younger sisters of KARA.”

April said it named the album a ‘prelude’ to signify a fresh start and new growth.

By Lim Jeong-yeo (kaylalim@heraldcorp.com)

Related article: Girl groups, old and new to usher in 2017