Home > Film

Korean reporters pick ‘The Throne’ as best film of 2015

  • Published : Jan 21, 2016 - 16:58
  • Updated : Jan 21, 2016 - 16:58

“The Throne” directed by Lee Joon-ik was judged the Best Fim of 2015 at the 7th Korea Film Reporters Association.

In addition, Yoo Ah-in won the Best Actor award, and actress Jeon Hye-jin the Best Supporting Actress for the movie.

(Poster of "The Throne")

The Best Director award was won by Ryu Seung-wan, who directed “Veteran,” recording over 13 million admissions at the local box office.

Jeon Do-yeon was chosen as the Best Actress for “The Shameless,” and Oh Dal-soo as the Best Supporting Actor for “Assassination.”

Byun Yo-han of “Socialphobia” and Park So-dam of “The Priests” took the rookie awards.

“Alice in Earnestland” which portrays the tough lives of young people won the Best Independent Film, and director George Miller’s “Mad Max: Fury Road” won in the Best Foreign Language Film category.

The award ceremony will be held Jan. 27 at the Korea Press Center located in Jung-gu, Seoul.

The Best Film awards are chosen by 82 members of Korea Film Reporters Association, who work as movie journalists in 50 media organizations nationwide.

By Kim Soo-hyang (shkim@heraldcorp.com)

Most Read Stories : Week