Home > Music

Girls’ Generation launches subunit ‘Oh!GG’

By Yim Hyun-su

  • Published : Aug 27, 2018 - 11:51
  • Updated : Aug 27, 2018 - 11:51

Legendary K-pop girl group Girls’ generation has unveiled its new subunit “Girls’ Generation-Oh!GG,” with its debut single “Lil’ Touch” set to be released on Sept. 5.

The new subunit consists of the five members from the original group -- Taeyeon, Sunny, Hyoyeon, Yuri, and YoonA -- who still remain signed to S.M. Entertainment.

The new single comes with another track “Fermata,” which has a different music style to the A-side.

(S.M. Entertainment)
The name, which came up based on the bandmates’ opinions, also took into consideration the Korean word “Ojida,” which means “solid” and “great” in English.

“Lil’ Touch” is the group’s first release since their sixth studio album “Holiday Night” in August 2017.

The "card type" physical copies of the single will go on sale for fans, with preorders available from Tuesday.

By Yim Hyun-su (hyunsu@heraldcorp.com)